“A Pledge to Never Give Up”

“A Pledge to Never Give Up”

 

I took an hour ride from home to what would be the start of a new life. I counted the minutes every time the driver opened the doors, thinking, “Is this my stop?” People came in, people went out, and everyone was worried only about themselves. As the rain filled the streets with water, I wondered, “Will I make it on time?” Finally, the clock yielded that it was time to be in class. I couldn’t do anything but wait; wait for the bus and rain to stop. I thought, “What if I am the only one late.” As the doors opened, I jumped off the bus and walked as fast as I could, rushing through the puddles. It only took two minutes for me to be soaked from head to toe. I thought about what I would tell my new professor whom I hadn’t even met yet. What will he think? It was only my first day of college.

 

As miserable as it might sound, that day, May 6th, 2013, was one of the happiest days of my life.

 
11391416_10204496134347941_4138453168802106326_n.jpg

On May 6th 2013, I had officially started a new phase in life.

Just like that day of horrible weather, I was able to make it to class, I compromise to never give up and fight for what I want. Fight for what I believe is righteous and fair! Courage and persistence will open all my future doors, just like the bus’ doors did that day. I look forward to surpassing the challenges crossed on my road, which I know will be many.

 

 

Leave a comment